O-Lineman Andy Dodd decommits from Bama, chooses LSU

Four-star offensive lineman Andy Dodd. PHOTO BY 24/7.

The rivalry between LSU and Alabama now has another sub-plot.

The two teams at the top of college football are near the top in the recruiting wars as well. On Friday, four months after verbally committing to Alabama, four-star offensive lineman Andy Dodd has switched his pledge to Les Miles and the Tigers after a two-day unofficial visit to Baton Rouge.

It was the second time in eight days that Alabama has lost a 2013 commitment to one of its top rivals. Top linebacker Reuben Foster switched his commitment to Auburn, even getting a tattoo to solidify his decision.

There is no such tattoo for Dodd, apparently, but the 6’4, 325-pounder seems set with his choice.

“I had just been praying about it,” Dodd told the Atlanta Journal Constitution. “I just felt like it was the right thing to do. It (LSU) was the place that I fit in the most.”

The Georgia native is LSU’s 21st commitment and fourth offensive lineman in the class. The others are Ethan Pocic out of Illinois, and Josh Boutte and K.J. Malone, both from Louisiana.

Dodd is also the ninth out-of-state prospect to commit to the Tigers and second from Georgia.  Quarterback Anthony Jennings committed in early June.

Dodd is extremely athletic for his size, as he played tight end last year for Pepperell High. He will play one of the interior line positions for LSU, with his expected final destination being center.

“I’ve been thinking about (changing) ever since I committed,” Dodd told the AJC. “I knew I made the wrong decision. Here lately, I had been telling people about it. I came down on a visit, and they showed me lots of love at LSU. I knew that’s where I wanted to go.”

“I just didn’t feel like I should be spending my college years there (Alabama). A week or two after committing, I knew I had made the mistake.”

“He’s more advanced as a run blocker, but I think he has the foot work to be a great pass blocker,” Pepperell football coach Jeff Shiftlett said in an earlier Rivals.com interview. “That’s his strength. His foot work is great for a big kid. He can really move. I think you’ll see improve on his pad level and a couple of other things that we’ll work on this season. He’s a great football player.”

247Sports considers Dodd to be the No. 11 offensive guard prospect for the 2013 class.

Leave a Reply

